On Self-Love

” Write down things you love and dislike about yourself”

 

Loving yourself should be the foundation of all love. It is hard to find love in anyone if you can’t even love yourself. I think many people can relate to this issue. As for me, I have been struggling to love myself lately and maybe that is why I find it hard to love someone and I always get hurt at the end. It is not the first time I’m sharing my very personal experience on this platform and I don’t mind people knowing the ‘secret’ or something that I have been struggling with. I want people to connect and to those who feel the same way like I do will be enlightened and know that they are not alone. 

Talk the Talk. Walk The Walk

It is different to loving yourself for who you really are and someone you are pretending to be. I have always thought that I have come to an acceptance phase where I acknowledge and embrace all my flaws but apparently, there are still a lot of things to be done. Talking about self-love is easy but when it comes to practicing it, believe me, it is so damn hard.

A Story.

So a few days ago I talked to this stranger, I opened up to him about what I’m going through these days. I don’t know about you but talking to strangers about my personal stuff is exhilarating. We both do not know about each other and that, for me, is perfect because I can share whatever I want without worrying he/she would spill it out. I told him that I am having a hard time practicing self-love and he told me that that is the root of the problem I am facing right now.

“Loving yourself is the foundation of all love.” 

He told me to write down things I don’t like about myself and what I love about myself and asked me to reflect on them. Those things you love about yourself are the ones you carry with you wherever you go. You also gotta acknowledge your flaws and accept them as part of who you are. When you are happy with yourself, and you acknowledge and accept your flaws and embrace them, you would not let anything in this world get the best of you. Your soul is filled with love and joy and you have built a home within you, the roots that grow within you keep you stand still.

When someone doesn’t reciprocate the love you have given to him/her, you would not be drowning in tears and hurting yourself and feeling worthless, because you know your worth, and hurting yourself for someone who doesn’t appreciate the things that you do is not worth your precious time and you know you gotta move on. If you love yourself for who you really are, you would not be seeking validation from others. Your worth isn’t determined by the likes you get on Instagram, how many followers you have, how many people praise you, and the compliments you get. Because you know YOU ARE SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT. You know your self-worth and you wouldn’t let anyone devalue you.

In the end, even if there is no love anymore in this world, all you have is yourself and that’s enough.

Love,

E

 

 

8 thoughts on “On Self-Love

  1. “I don’t know about you but talking to strangers about my personal stuff is exhilarating” some people look down upon people who do this but you put it in a way that makes having deep conversations with strangers so endearing and intense. I normally get afraid of even telling my friends deep stuff because of the stigma attached to it so I thank you for describing it in this way. Maybe I’ll try to speak to a stranger in a deeper way than normal someday soon.

    • Hey!
      Thank you for your kind words and You are very welcome! πŸ™‚
      I don’t know why but some strangers I’ve talked to were so nice and friendly and nonjudgmental and they even gave the best advice. And yes I think you should try it πŸ™‚

      • I love strangers who are so friendly and I would guess you are one of those strangers because someone unfriendly wouldn’t start a deep conversation with a stranger! I think it would be so enjoyable to speak with someone like you as a stranger! Also, what you are doing is a therapy skill i learned called match plus one. It’s where you match their level of vulnerability when speaking to you, then you add an extra level and get a little more vulnerable with this! you should look into it

      • Well most of my friends tell me I am pretty friendly haha. I’m naturally curious and I’ve always been driven by my curiosity maybe that is why I like engaging into a deep conversation with strangers.

        And I have tried to look it up on google but there’s no information about it

Leave a Reply

