Letter to Grandpa

Dear Opa,

I miss you dearly. It has been 14 years since you left. It has also been 14 years since I lost my partner in crime. Remember the things we used to do together? I still remember that time when we used to sneak in chocolate, and ice creams, because Mom and Dad would never allowed me to taste those heavenly-made foods. But, you understood me as a little kiddo and grand-daughter who was so curious. I also still remember that one time when I was 2 or 3, you took me for a walk, but all of sudden you left me at that strange place because you forgot that you had me with you haha.

Grandpa, I wish you knew that I’m always proud to share your story to my friends at school.
I’m one lucky and proud grand daughter. The scar on your right leg that you got from the war, made me realize that you’re one brave soldier who risked your life to fight for this country. I’m proud to say that my grandpa was a hero. I wish you could see me grow to be the person I’ve become today. I wish you knew that I miss you so much. I wish I had time to learn more from you. I wish I had your bravery to stand up for what’s right, just like what you did

I wish I had more time to love you more, grandpa

Dad always told me that grandpa never wanted to be forgotten. He took his last breath on my 5th birthday. At that age, I did not know much about pain, all I knew was that I had to do was to attend this funeral and do all this rituals. Opa, every time I celebrate my birthday, I do not only celebrate this life that God has given for me, but I also celebrate YOUR life, your legacy.
I will always love and miss you, opa and oma.

Much loves,

your proud grand-daughter

popPINGBACKS!

One thought on “Letter to Grandpa

Leave a Reply

